High coolant temp. and duke is DEAD! - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 07-25-2015, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 3
(Thread Starter)
High coolant temp. and duke is DEAD!

Hi. Pls.
I don't know, what i have to do.
One month ago, my bike during ride suddenly turn off. And from this day, always, when i turn on bike, my bike show this "in attachment".
description my problem: when i turn on bike, bike is quiet. relays make not snapping and fuel pump are not make noise and bike do not want run.
i changed a electro-wiring for new electro-wiring under warranty and issue has gone. but i make o 140km and my old issue have been back. some ideas? thanks very much.

temperature sensor looks ok, it have 2,1 kohm resistance.
and ECU is good too, because i gave my ECU to other DUKE 390 and everything was fine.
DUKE 390 2013 - 5500km
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150623_105824.jpg
Views:	5142
Size:	195.0 KB
ID:	10809  

Last edited by boraicho; 07-25-2015 at 03:42 PM.
boraicho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 07-25-2015, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
The Mariner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 635
Howdy,

I would suggest your temperature sensor is faulty. I see you have tested its resistance but how do you know that's the correct value ?

Regards,

Phil.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
KTM 390 Duke (white of course), Skyteam ACE 125 and a '72 Suzuki GP125 Cafe Racer project bike.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Mariner is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 07-25-2015, 08:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 54
Yeah try new temp sensor.. it's not really expensive.. that way you can check that of the list.. also check whether you fan has committed suicide which is a common issue with these dukes..
B7ACKTHORN likes this.
jiri is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 07-26-2015, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 3
(Thread Starter)
i did a video about this issue.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FlAMAgPyySY
i don't know, what value resistance is correct but, i checked other temperature sensor from other DUKE 390 and was similar approximately 2,1kohm.
and i checked my fan on DUKE and is good. i joined him on PC power supply and he blew air.
boraicho is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 07-26-2015, 04:38 PM
Super Moderator
 
malJohann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MEL VIC AUS
Posts: 1,630
Garage
Have you checked that you have enough coolant in your radiator?
malJohann is online now  
post #6 of 16 Old 07-26-2015, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by malJohann View Post
Have you checked that you have enough coolant in your radiator?
Ultimately that's the first thing that should be checked and if low, to look for any signs of a bigger issue going on. I tend to think starting with the easiest and simplest thing is the best.
HazardousDuke is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 07-26-2015, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 3
(Thread Starter)
yes i have coolant enough , is half centimeter above max line. i did have dismantle whole bike. i am personally changed electric-wiring.
This case will be maybe first on the world
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150716_163659.jpg
Views:	2392
Size:	223.8 KB
ID:	10921   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150716_164130.jpg
Views:	3307
Size:	183.4 KB
ID:	10929   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150703_142926.jpg
Views:	2479
Size:	376.7 KB
ID:	10937  
boraicho is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 07-28-2015, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
rippedcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 276
Looks like a defective sensor issue..
rippedcb is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-15-2015, 02:11 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
I am also having the same problem and my bike is just 1 week old with just 300kms on it. @boraicho Were you able to solve the issue?
vibin clement likes this.
sd390 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-15-2015, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
B7ACKTHORN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Nilgiris - Where everything is in a relaxed state of tune!
Posts: 705
Strange indeed. In your video you've removed the temperature sensor connector and still the console reads HCT, I suspect either a faulty console or wiring here. Check for ground issues, poor grounding too can cause this issue, IIRC.

Cheers!
V

Fool me once - Shame on you
Fool me twice - I'll kick your @rse

Honda CBR 250R ABS | Suzuki Shogun 2S | Hyundai Accent GLS 1.6 ABS | KTM Duke 390 | Next ?

Last edited by B7ACKTHORN; 10-15-2015 at 10:44 AM.
B7ACKTHORN is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome