KTM Duke 390 Forum banner

New from Oregon

3K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  akshay Kumar 2 
#1 ·
Looking at getting a new 2017 Duke 390 or the new BMW G310R, whichever arrives at dealer soonest.
Selling my Indian Scout because of its weight and my physical issues, getting older. Have ridden since 1964, with 34 of my own bikes, and many others. Have always liked the Dukes, thinking might be fun if the new one isn't too tall.

#2 ·
Welcome JACoH! A surprising number of "anciens combattants" - long time veteran riders - make their way here through attraction to the Duke. It's a great bike for an experienced rider looking for something lightweight but quick and easily manageable. Lots of fun. There are many of us - myself, I started riding in 1968 and, like you, have gone through a stable of bikes, most of which were bigger, faster and heavier than the Duke. Although the Duke is an ideal mount for a novice rider, it is also a delight in the hands of a veteran.

The 2017 Duke is, according to reports, a bit taller than the previous 2013-16 generation. If it proves too tall for you, I would suggest looking at a 2016 - there are plenty remaining in dealerships that would likely be available at a discount compared to the 2017. An outstanding bike.

We hope to see you here soon as a Duke owner!

#4 ·
Looking at getting a new 2017 Duke 390 or the new BMW G310R, whichever arrives at dealer soonest.

Selling my Indian Scout because of its weight and my physical issues, getting older. Have ridden since 1964, with 34 of my own bikes, and many others. Have always liked the Dukes, thinking might be fun if the new one isn't too tall.