First Oil Change - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 7Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 11-14-2013, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Luther8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 29
(Thread Starter)
First Oil Change

In the past for my newly acquired bikes I would do a hard break in and change the oil around 1900 miles. Just wondering how you guys would go on with your maintenance procedure or if you guys do it any differently.

when I get my 390 Duke I plan to replace the K&N oil filter with the bolt at the end making it easier to remove and some Amsoil for heart fluid.
Luther8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 11-14-2013, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,087
I was considering doing an oil change before the first oil change interval. Would you change it before or do it by the book?
HazardousDuke is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 03-26-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Strykar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 100
Garage
I didn't do a motoman run-in or anything extreme, just took it out to the mountains behind my house and ran her up and down a few times the day I bought her. Running an engine in on crowded city streets is the worst thing you can do, besides cold starts. I always idle and wait for the coolant temp to hit 2 bars before riding the bike. If the coolant temp is very high after a hard ride, I would idle the bike for 2-5 mins before shutting off the engine.

Accelerate smoothly up to the 7500RPM mark in each gear and use the same gears coming down as up. Use the engine to decelerate coming down. I swapped my factory oil and oil filter out at 200Kms. It's a Nikasil coated precision part, you don't need 1000Kms to wear it in, but you can ruin it in the first 100Kms if you're not careful.

There were visible flecks of Aluminum at 200Kms, and when I swapped out the oil at 1000 for the "1st service", there were hardly any flecks at all. The mech who worked on my bike mentioned the oil he drained looked great.

Perhaps the only thing different I would do if I could would be to use a mineral oil upto 1000Kms from my 200 Km oil change instead of the Motul synthetic which it will run on forever now.
DustyDan likes this.

Last edited by Strykar; 03-26-2014 at 10:29 AM.
Strykar is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 Old 03-26-2014, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 520
^ what you did is pretty similar to the motoman method
dukeitout is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 03-26-2014, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,087
Good read, good to know this. Do you know people running the oils you mentioned below or what? Seems like you are speaking from personal experience or from the experience of others
HazardousDuke is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 03-26-2014, 11:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Strykar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 100
Garage
I didn't rev up to 7500 RPM each time/gear, it was the max I hit if I did go that high. Going uphill and downhill taxes the engine well enough to warrant accelerating cleanly in each gear. It's no motoman run in, by far.

I believe my Duke came with mineral oil from the factory. It's currently running the manual recommended synthetic oil. I do have some experience with blocks and pistons, having changed over 2 dozen in my high revving 2-stroke bike.
Strykar is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 03-27-2014, 03:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Far North QLD Oz
Posts: 817
All KTM's come from the factory with Mineral Oil in them until their first service. In regards to running in its pretty much each to their own I find. Mine seen 10,000rpm a few times before the 1000km and has always lived around the 7000 area. Doesnt use a drop of oil or miss a beat.
Strykar likes this.
Dan1 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 04-09-2014, 03:09 AM
Sid
Senior Member
 
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 169
I changed mine at 320kms and then later around 1200kms.
The first change showed quite a lot of metal shearings stuck to the magnetic filter.
Took the bike straight out to the freeway and did about 150kms with lots of gear/RPM changes and occasional burst of RPM all the way to 8000RPM.
Sid is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 04-09-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
The Pain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid View Post
I changed mine at 320kms and then later around 1200kms.
The first change showed quite a lot of metal shearings stuck to the magnetic filter.
Took the bike straight out to the freeway and did about 150kms with lots of gear/RPM changes and occasional burst of RPM all the way to 8000RPM.
Hi,

Im coming up on my first service shortly as well. Whats the best oil to use? Has anyone tried Motul 300v 15w50 Factory line.?

Im from India, we dont have Motorex oil here.

Thanks!
The Pain is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 04-09-2014, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Far North QLD Oz
Posts: 817
I think Sid is running 15w50 Motul, its in a thread here somewhere.
The Pain and Sid like this.
Dan1 is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome