Oil level - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 06-28-2015, 10:26 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Oil level

Hey guys,

I got a new white Duke 390. When the bike is cold and on its kickstand, what level should the oil be at on the sight glass? Mine is below the MIN mark but when I stand it up, it is right under Max. I'm new to KTMs or motorcycles rather so I'm not sure what the procedure is to check oil.

My Duke didn't come with a manual, just brochures and parts catalog.

Thanks,
Vin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 06-28-2015, 10:43 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vin_c View Post
Hey guys,

I got a new white Duke 390. When the bike is cold and on its kickstand, what level should the oil be at on the sight glass? Mine is below the MIN mark but when I stand it up, it is right under Max. I'm new to KTMs or motorcycles rather so I'm not sure what the procedure is to check oil.

My Duke didn't come with a manual, just brochures and parts catalog.

Thanks,
Vin
To check the engine oil level the bike must be:
* At operating temperature, so idle until the fan comes on
* Stood upright (not on sidestand) on a horizontal surface

The engine oil level must be:
* Between the two markings in the middle of the sight-glass
* If below the lower marking, add oil
* If above the top marking, drain oil
post #3 of 26 Old 06-29-2015, 01:51 AM

Send a message via MSN to weeksy
Quote:
Originally Posted by malJohann View Post
* If above the top marking, drain oil

Let the oil cool down before this
B7ACKTHORN likes this.

post #4 of 26 Old 06-29-2015, 02:01 AM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by weeksy View Post
Let the oil cool down before this
..unless you're using a syringe through the fill cap...

Honda CBR400RR --> Suzuki Raider 150R --> Suzuki DR200SE --> KTM D390 with sauce
post #5 of 26 Old 06-29-2015, 04:12 AM