Rapid bike easy - Page 2 - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 03:51 AM
Senior Member
 
duke200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 418
in fact if my friend weren't the dimsport automotive distributor (so i will make a custom map), i would have been gone for the rapid easy.

But i am sure the rabid bike easy affects also the open loop mode, because the modern ECUs (Med17, etc), during open loop mode, are taking into account the real time AFR measurements from stock lambda, and they fix the AFR values.
duke200 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 06:47 AM
640
Senior Member
 
640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 723
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke of pork View Post
WOW..thanks for all the info... I found it a bit daunting actually if I'm honest,I don't have the same level of understanding as you but I'am grateful,I want to plug it in and forget about it...although I will endeavour to understand.
To be honest (#2) much of whatever knowledge I may have on this topic I have gleaned from (too) many hours reading this forum

A fairly experienced DIY motorcycle mechanic I may be, but (like you ) I'm old school , this is the first bike I've worked on with a lambda sensor and only the second one with fuel injection.

i think I've just found @duke200 's post a bit daunting
duke of pork likes this.

Less is more - You can only use 150hp .001% of the time, but you can use 150kg 100% of the time ...........


2015 390 Duke / 2001 KTM 640 Duke2 / 1994 DR350 (in bits)
640 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
LNICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke200 View Post
in fact if my friend weren't the dimsport automotive distributor (so i will make a custom map), i would have been gone for the rapid easy.

But i am sure the rabid bike easy affects also the open loop mode, because the modern ECUs (Med17, etc), during open loop mode, are taking into account the real time AFR measurements from stock lambda, and they fix the AFR values.
Would be funny if it take the lambda sensor in account on open loop because it is open exactly because it does not use the return of it in account (negative feedback - in my engineer course a long time ago ).
LNICK is online now  
 
post #14 of 14 Old 09-08-2016, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
duke200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 418
i cannot explain very well how a modern M17 bosch ECU caclulates the open loop injector duty cycle, but the point is that the lambda sensor signal is considered in a way not like closed loop (so that we will have the wave style voltage chart), but as a helping signal to calculate better the max load injector duty cycle...

modern ECUs have way better calculating capabilities than the old "fixed" open loop function.

Its not so easy to "think" in another language and i can't express well these things even in my native language...
LNICK likes this.

Last edited by duke200; 09-08-2016 at 11:06 AM.
duke200 is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome