To remap or not to remap - KTM remapping - Page 2 - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 Old 07-14-2018, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Dirttrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillibones View Post
Hi Dirttrev, is your bike stock?
Yes, completely stock, just some useful things, on heated grips, rear rack and box, wind screen, sliders and hand guards....
Dirttrev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 Old 07-15-2018, 04:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: penrith uk
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ede View Post
I read in this forum that the KTM has also such a 15 minute reset procedure.
But I don't have a link ready for you.
Thank you knowing the information is out there I'll go look for it .
Hedgepig is online now  
post #13 of 17 Old 05-16-2019, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 452
My 2018 Duke 390 had similar issues with not running smooth at low RPM.
I fitted a tuning box which cost UK £145 and this made it a lot smoother.
It basically makes the mixture a bit richer. I did have to adjust it as initially the engine check light came on, but it is OK now.
I used the RBE tuning box but there are others also.
lightning is online now  
 
post #14 of 17 Old 07-09-2019, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
properperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMasean View Post
Ede,

I do not know for sure but read on this forum that the >2016 models will not be re-mapped by KTM dealers.
The <2016 models have what they call an Akro map that is supposed to comply with the Powerparts aftermarket exhaust.
I do not know of any negative side effects of having this bike run less lean and read that actually, the fuel consumption will go down instead of up due to this.
I have no own experience as my 2015/6 Duke has the standard underbelly silencer that I like better.
I do run a PowerTronic V3 piggyback that smoothened out the jerkiness at lower RPM's.
There is an ECU tuner in Pattaya that claims to "improve" (which simply means the bike will no longer be EU4 compatible) power and rideability of the Duke.
You can send them your ECU unit and they even restore to OEM settings if not happy.
I asked them to send me some dyno graphs but for now, they are not able to.
If you are interested in this option please DM me and I will look for the companies details.
The other option would be to get a Coober Powerparts tuner, KTM approved and your Dukes warrenty will be taken over by this company.
This unit, however, is not tunable by the customer.

can you give contact details...?
properperson is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 07-10-2019, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
KTMasean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Champasak province, Lao P.D.R.
Posts: 856
Garage
This is their phone number: 0817623932, I think it is called Bike-Car Tuner Pattaya.
There is also an Indian company claiming incredible power increases I will see if I can still find them as well for you.
Both will put back the OEM map if you are not happy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by properperson View Post
can you give contact details...?

As long as you are happy with what you ride.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
KTMasean is online now  
post #16 of 17 Old 07-11-2019, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
properperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMasean View Post
This is their phone number: 0817623932, I think it is called Bike-Car Tuner Pattaya.
There is also an Indian company claiming incredible power increases I will see if I can still find them as well for you.
Both will put back the OEM map if you are not happy.

Contacted him - unfortunately - he doesn't do the new model Duke - just the old one .....


Went to the seat man today - strip, replace foam with memory foam, recover with nice grippy stuff, with twin orange stitching - a snip at $20 usd "all in" (seat concepts want more than that for postage - and Power Parts - do me a favour....)


Good old Thailand.....
.
KTMasean and Abitibi like this.
properperson is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 07-12-2019, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 452
Why not fit the RBE tuning box, my post was skipped over but it solves the low speed running issues on this bike.

However my insurance declined to cover the bike with the tuning box fitted, so l had to disconnect it.
Now, with increased mileage on the bike, the engine is smoother anyway. Still not as good as with the tuning box, but a lot better than when it was new.
varroa likes this.
lightning is online now  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome