Getting rid of the jerkyness .... - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By properperson
  • 1 Post By Eddyg22
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-20-2019, 10:40 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
properperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 264
(Thread Starter)
Getting rid of the jerkyness ....

Hope this is in the right section.....


Just bought a s/h "new model" 390 - having had the original model a few years back....


Initial thoughts - whilst not as bad at low speeds and round town as the old one, its way to lumpy and jerky for me and from the traffic lights - it needs changing up almost instantly - its frankly bonkers !.....


With the previous model i changed the rear sprocket and was chuffed with the results....


So ordered a - 3 tooth from Tyga Performance in Satahip (the new model has 44 tooth, compared to the old model which has 45 tooth)



Got it fitted .......


Wow - what a transformation for such a small cost .....


The jerkyness has gone.....its not so mental taking off from the traffic lights.... stays in 1st, 2nd and 3rd longer....mid range acceration feels quicker.......in top gear, revs are lower and it's more relaxed.....also when you slow down in top gear and then want to resume speed, no need to change down to 5th as pick up is very good....as well, the gear change feels a lot smoother and slicker - i'm also assured that the top speed increases, although i'm not really bothered about that.....


in the past i've done re-maps / mod exhaust and all that melarkey - but i don't think i'll bother this time - The police here have got stricter on mod exhausts - so gives me the perfect excuse to not faff around with it.....


k & K filter fitted by the previous owner and air box lid mods give a bit of "induction roar" - that suits me perfectly.... God i'm starting to sound like my Dad !

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190719_150040.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	282.6 KB
ID:	49251   Click image for larger version

Name:	top pic - Copy.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	399.5 KB
ID:	49253  
KTMasean likes this.
properperson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-21-2019, 08:56 AM
Ede
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 301
Garage
You have already the KTM "race" exhaust.
According to the dealer the jerkiness is more pronounced with anything other than the stock exhaust. At least that is what they told me.
Enjoy the ride.
Ede is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-21-2019, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Eddyg22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 100
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ede View Post
You have already the KTM "race" exhaust.
According to the dealer the jerkiness is more pronounced with anything other than the stock exhaust. At least that is what they told me.
Enjoy the ride.
Thats a sticker in the stock
Ede likes this.

Live in Socal? Message me and lets ride!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Eddyg22 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 07-22-2019, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
properperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 264
(Thread Starter)
[QUOTE=Eddyg22;405031]Thats a sticker in the stock[/QUOTE]


Guilty as charged !


Although a couple of people have asked me if thats the new Akrapovic .....lol...
.
properperson is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-27-2019, 02:49 AM
Senior Member
 
duke200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 418
You have done the right think. Even though I have the 200 model, I am also at 3 teeth less. You can't drive that thing with stock gears, its only for drag/track race.

Sent from my ASUS_X00HD using Tapatalk
duke200 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-27-2019, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 307
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke200 View Post
You have done the right think. Even though I have the 200 model, I am also at 3 teeth less. You can't drive that thing with stock gears, its only for drag/track race.

Sent from my ASUS_X00HD using Tapatalk


Depends how and where you ride. Iím at 5+ teeth and itís just about right.
Mirius is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-27-2019, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Boise, Id. /Portland, Or.
Posts: 45
Has anyone one put a 39 T rear sprocket on the 390? I've change out the sprocket on my Triumph Street Twin (and did a chain adjustment link) and it was a noticeable difference, in a good way.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
changohot is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-28-2019, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
properperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 264
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by changohot View Post
Has anyone one put a 39 T rear sprocket on the 390? I've change out the sprocket on my Triumph Street Twin (and did a chain adjustment link) and it was a noticeable difference, in a good way.

i think (imho) that 39T maybe a bit too much....


41 / 42 the best for day to day living with the bike.....
properperson is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-28-2019, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 444
This is interesting
So you are saying that the bike works better with higher gearing.
The standard rear sprocket on the 2017 onwards, is a 44 tooth so l need a 41. Do you have to shorten the chain?
lightning is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-29-2019, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
properperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pattaya, Thailand
Posts: 264
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightning View Post
This is interesting
So you are saying that the bike works better with higher gearing.
The standard rear sprocket on the 2017 onwards, is a 44 tooth so l need a 41. Do you have to shorten the chain?

yes - the difference is staggering .....


I went for a 41 - my comments above are based on a 41T rear sprocket....


You don't have to shorten the chain - as there is plenty of adjustment - but i would suggest you do - i had the mechanic take out 2 links, before re-joining the chain with a suitable joining link.....Pretty easy if you know how....
properperson is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome