Newbie Dukey77 - KTM Duke 390 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-19-2017, 04:29 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Newbie Dukey77

Hi folks, Just wanted to introduce myself. Newbie here and looking to buy my first Duke 390. Life long motorcycle rider, current owner of a KLR 650 but like that Duke for my vacation home in Southern California and the small garage. Old Town Orange.

Wow, what's going on with the 2017s? I am perfectly content to get a good used or new 2016 but wouldn't mind waiting for the 2017 but goodness.......it's almost bizarre now. What, they can't get it out? What could possibly be the problem? Sounds like somebody screwed up somewhere big time.

I'm beginning to think the 2018s will be out before the 2017s!

I know I'm new and this may be too early or the wrong forum but can anyone answer the following for me?

1. How easy is the battery access on the Duke 390?
2. Is it practical to disconnect one of the battery terminal cables so as not to drain it while I am away from our vacation condo? Would that even work?
3. Can you recommend a good battery tender, preferably one that will not EVER overheat since I won't be at this condo most of the time where the Duke will be kept?

Thanks again and look forward to this forum and a Duke 390 ....whenever I get one.

Dukey77
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 07-19-2017, 05:09 PM

Garage
Hi there!

The 2017s seem to either have shipping issues or regulation issues, you would get a killer deal on a used 15/16 (a few for sale in SoCal on these forums, I think).

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukey77 View Post
1. How easy is the battery access on the Duke 390?
pretty easy, just remove the passenger seat with the key, then remove 2 bolts for the rider's seat.

Quote:
2. Is it practical to disconnect one of the battery terminal cables so as not to drain it while I am away from our vacation condo? Would that even work?