Powder coating the frame? - KTM Duke 390 Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-18-2019, 08:06 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Powder coating the frame?

Hey kids! I'm purchasing a duke 390 in the next few weeks, prob 2015 or 16, which I'm super excited for, yew! Thing is.... im just not a fan of the bright orange frame 😢 I guess I'm just wondering exactly how much of a project it is to strip the whole bike down to the frame, get it powder coated (or paint it), and reassemble. Has anyone done this? How long did it take and did you have any problems or have any tips? I have a lot of experience with working with tools, but zero experience with motorcycle mechanics 😅
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-19-2019, 02:32 AM

I mean yeah people do it. Google custom KTM Duke 390's, there are some amazing bikes out there. If you were going to pay a shop I imagine it's be money better spent elseware. If I had to give a rough guess I'd say at least 4 hours to drop motor and alot of the stuff but that's not including any paint prep, plus you gotta put everything back after. You're talking thousands of dollars (US).
post #3 of 14 Old 07-19-2019, 02:54 AM

I’d guess you get another bike for the money of that. As long as you can’t do it all by yourself which would be a pain in the *youknowwhere”.

I actually do get a lot of compliments (in the US) for the color - they are just more used to Harley black I guess, though.

And if you drive KTM, you bleed orange anyhow

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Whiskey likes this.

post #4 of 14 Old 07-19-2019, 05:35 AM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
I was hoping to do it myself to save the thousands 😅 I have googled - it's what inspired me to be honest. There are some incredible ones out there 🙂
post #5 of 14 Old 07-19-2019, 05:38 AM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)