New Duke 390 rider, new to your Forum - KTM Duke 390 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-05-2019, 10:17 PM Thread Starter

Garage
(Thread Starter)
New Duke 390 rider, new to your Forum

First of all I will say I love the bike. I bought the white 2019 version on June 29th, had it insured a couple weeks later, started riding again and I've got no regrets. Now I've got around 1200 or so miles on it, just did the 3rd oil change at 1050; so in another 200 miles I'll be pulling all those screens out again, just getting on with it.

I work as a mechanic, to make money, or you can call me a technician if you want, because I hardly ever get to use hard tools anymore. I spend more time with wiring diagrams, DVOMs and DSOs in my clutch, but I'm not fool enough to think it's woo-hoo glamorous. I think it's just that nobody wants to do it because, to them, it often borders on the hypothetical... and I get that, because I personally don't believe anything good comes from esoterica or maybes. Just my two cents.

But, ya know what? I really don't like talking about myself that much. I'm pretty sure this bike, and also my Trek FX4, are my two latest 'escapes' from the 3-ring shitshow of my daily life . So maybe let's just leave my everyday who the **** am I outta this, cool?

So far the only mods I've done are the ABRacing crash bars and the KTM swingarm spools... but I did just order 16 and 43 tooth Superlites from Sprocket Center. Yeah, those are both the steel ones; one of them is on BO until Nov 19.

I also picked up the CAN/OBD harness and ELM327 combo. I'm kinda curious, when I get a chance, to pin down the closed-to-open loop transition criteria of this motorcycle... and dropping the rpms by 900 surely ought to aggravate that, right? Eh, we'll see.