KTM Duke 390 Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I got a pre-owned 2015 duke last year. Couldn't ride much due to covid-lockdowns. But when I started riding it in peak traffic, sometimes the fan didn't kick in at all (at around 8-9 bars when it should be kicking in) and sometimes the fan did kick in. It was such a random issue that whenever I went to KTM svc, the fan worked perfectly, and they'd hand me the bike after a day of testing, saying that there are no issues. So I gave it to a local mechanic friend. He did the testing and found that the wiring harness had weakened due to the previous guy storing it in sun for longer periods of time. Wires were deteriorating. So I changed the wiring harness new 2016 duke's. Still, the issue was there, everything (fan, thermostat, coolant temperature sensor) were fine according to him. We also changed fan relays and coolant temperature sensor just to be sure. The problem is still there.

Although in this trial and error process, I found how the problem exactly comes up. Whenever I'm riding at the 8 or more bars of temperature and the fan is running, if I turn off the bike and turn it on multiple times, (typical scenario at each traffic signals in b2b traffic), the fan won't kick in after few restarts of the bike. The previous owner must have had the same issue and that's why he sold it maybe. Cause the bike is running the improved 2016 shrouded fan.

Even though I know how to replicate the issue, I don't know what is causing it. Any help would be appreciated. I was also looking for SPAL fan in india. But its not available in domestic market. Any good sites to import it?

·
Super Moderator
1,855 Posts
If the fan works, it probably is a ground issue.
If you have replaced the temp. sensor have you also checked the connector (was an issue on my 200).