KTM Duke 390 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2017 duke 390 and am researching the coober piggyback ecu and airbox cover. Its almost $600 so before I spent the money was curious if anyone has any experience with these mods? If so did you notice any kind of gains in power at all and if so what exactly?

I'm new to all this so another question I have is what exactly is plug and play? does that mean the bike does not need to be tuned after installation and that the new piggyback ecu will automatically adjust the bike for me?

I bought the bike used about 6 months ago, the previous owner did a cat delete with a slip on exhaust and K&N air filter.

Any advice is appreciated

·
Registered
28 Posts
I can't speak specifically to the Coober ECU/airbox cover combo, as I've no experience using their product(s). That said, they do get quite favourable reviews on here & elsewhere... Most ECU reviews report small power gains overall, but significantly smoother engine performance at lower RPM's. I wouldn't expect more.

Plug & Play generally refers to parts or accessories manufactured for a specific make/model bike and installation will require no significant modifications, if any. Install of the ECU piggyback only requires plugging the pre-configured wiring harness into the OEM harness at various points

I don't believe the Coober ECU automatically adjusts to the bike (like the Rapid Bike EVO) but comes with a couple different maps preloaded for use - depending on your specific configuration. There may be other tuning/mapping options available, but don't hold me to that.

Cheers!

·
Registered
185 Posts
I have the Coober ECU, I didn't notice any power upgrade (tho the redline is higher, so probably there is some top-end increase) but there's a night-and-day difference in low RPM behavior. It's a different bike on low RPMs and that's what I was after.