KTM Duke 390 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have some LEDs on the way, and am not sure what ohm resistors I should put inline. I see a lot of people talking about it, but no one actually stating what ohm resistors they finally got to work.

Suggestions?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
or would it be easier to just get a new relay? If so, what relay are you guys using?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I guess here is my question:

if my OEM bulbs are 12v 10W, and I add an LED that has a power consumption of 3W, will a 21.5 Ohm resistor work? These are the resistors I am looking at:

https://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/rg-racing-turn-signal-resistors

it states that "the 21.5 Ohm resistors when going from 10 watt incandescent turn signals to LED turn signals" and while I am an Engineer, I am not an electrical engineer.

·
Premium Member
48 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Check out this thread on just changing the bulbs to LED, worked fine on my Duke ( cheap too...) https://www.ktmduke390forum.com/forum/parts-accessories/44473-changed-led-turn-signals-bulbs.html

On my Husky 401 Svarp. I when with Rizoma Leggera front turn signals and some other Rizonma on the back. They come with resistors you buy separate.
my goal here is to get rid of the massive and ugly turn signals. i would go with incandescents if that were an option on the signals I am replacing with, but its not.

·
Registered
342 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Motogadget m-Blaze Pins ordred, and R&G resistors. Will report back if this works (unlike most of the other people who have tried to get LEDs to work and just abandon the thread after).

·
Registered
130 Posts
Sorry I don't have the answer to what value works, but here's the theory...

You have 2x10W at present. Changing to 2x3W means you reduced the power consumption by 14W.