KTM Duke 390 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
682 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my review of the SW-Motech crash bars available in Australia from Motorrad Garage, www.motorradgarage.com.au.

I decided to get these bars instead of the KTM Power Parts Crash Bars (or the copies) for 3 reasons:

1).. The SW-Motech ones fit a lot higher on the frame & I think would give much better protection to the radiator in the event of a fall.
2).. In my opinion they are much less obvious once installed.
3).. I like to be different !

Purchasing was simple from the Motorrad Garage website. The bars arrived within a week and were very well packaged. Inside the box were the 2 crash bars, all fasteners needed & a detailed set of fitting instructions. The bars themselves looked great... very well made with meaty welds & powdercoated in a satin black finish. First impression is that they are HEAVY.. heavier than I expected & weigh-in at around 900g each, but I have no experience with other brands of crash bars to compare them to.

You'll need 2 x 14mm sockets & ratchet bars, a 15mm socket, an 8mm Allen key, a 10mm Allen key & a tube of thread locker.

These crash bars bolt to the front 3 engine mount locations, so just follow the instructions & start on the LHS one first. Remove the lower through bolt then the 2 upper socket head bolts. Fit the LH crash guard using the spacers & new bolts provided in the kit, apply thread locker & loosely bolt it up. Repeat on the RHS. Once everything is fitted loosely, tighten everything to the torque specs.

Stand back and admire !

The whole installation takes a leisurely 25 minutes from the time you unlock the shed.

Hope this helps.

Attachments

·
Registered
19 Posts