KTM Duke 390 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2018 390 duke with about 9100km on the clock. Today I ran out of fuel for the first time, and the bike acted a bit odd IMO. Once I ran out and lost power, the bike wouldn’t let me freely shift gears. At first, it wouldn’t let me shift beyond 3rd or 4th (even with clutch in); I pulled over, turned the bike off then back on and was able to make it maybe another 200m before it cut out again and wouldn’t let me shift Like before. When I pulled off and stopped the second time, I tried shifting through the gears without the engine running, and I could only shift up to 3rd, at which point, the gear indicator cut out and it wouldn’t let me go any higher.
Is it normal for the transmission to act like this? Or is something wrong? Maybe I’m just a noob I dunno, it’s my first bike. Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
653 Posts
There’s no electrical device in the gearbox that could physically stop you from changing gear, it’s just a mechanical unit.
However the electronics could I guess cut the ignition to stop you from actually accelerating in the gears once selected.

ls the bike OK now that you put some fuel in?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There’s no electrical device in the gearbox that could physically stop you from changing gear, it’s just a mechanical unit.
However the electronics could I guess cut the ignition to stop you from actually accelerating in the gears once selected.

ls the bike OK now that you put some fuel in?
Ya, once I put fuel in it, it seemed to run completely fine. Not really sure what was going on.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Did you happen to see how far you got out of that tank of fuel? I think there is way more left in the tank when it tells you it’s out.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Did you happen to see how far you got out of that tank of fuel? I think there is way more left in the tank when it tells you it’s out.